STAR Transit Elects Longtime Executive Director to Board

For Immediate Release

STAR Transit Elects Longtime Executive Director to Board

 (TERRELL, TX) – May 2, 2022 – Omega Hawkins, who retired as STAR Transit’s Executive Director in 2019, is the organization’s new Primary Place 1 board member.

The board elected Hawkins on April 19.  Previously, she was serving as Alternate Member Place 1. The board re-elected three officers at the same meeting: Jerry Dittman, Chairman; Carrie Gordon, Vice Chairman; and Dana Macalik, Secretary.

Hawkins had been executive director for more than 40 years when she retired. Tommy Henricks was promoted to Executive Director from Chief Financial Officer when Hawkins retired.

“STAR Transit is in such a wonderful position today,” Hawkins said. “It’s made a great transition to on-demand transportation, and I’m delighted to serve the organization as Primary Place 1 board member.”

Hawkins’ perspective on STAR Transit and the growth of its network and region is invaluable, Tommy Henricks, STAR Transit Executive Director, said.

“Omega has such a depth of institutional knowledge,” Henricks said. “She’s an indispensable resource to the organization and our board.”

Dittman retired from the City of Mesquite where he served as Deputy City Manager. He was elected STAR Transit chair in 2021.

Gordon is Mayor of Balch Springs and was elected STAR Transit’s Vice Chair in 2021.

Macalik serves on the Rockwall City Council and is former Mayor Pro Tem. She was elected STAR Transit secretary in 2021.

About STAR Transit. Founded in 1988, STAR Transit is the fourth largest transit agency in the North Central Texas region—and the largest not funded by sales tax. Revenues are derived from federal and state grants as well as local partnerships with cities, counties, and businesses. STAR Transit provides safe, affordable, and convenient transportation to the public, seniors, veterans, and people with disabilities for access to jobs, healthcare, personal services, retail, and entertainment. More than 100 employees are responsible for providing over 135,000 rides annually. The agency is headquartered in Terrell.  For more information, visit